Kézdivásárhely- Tirgu Secuiesc

 


Became well-known throughout Europe because of its court areas and guild history, that can be considered unique. It is also called a guid town, as these ancient crafts make up the history of the town, once there were 11 guilds within its city limits. The layout of the town is unique, the center is surrounded by small streets called court areaswhose creation can be traced back to the XVth century. The reason for their creation is simple, the town was a market in the old days, around which the traders, craftsmen set up tents, then they settled down and built their houses. It is due to this fact that from the center a great many small streets start, whose residents have close ties to each other, long ago this street was counted as a common courtyard.


Further sights of Târgu Secuiesc:

In the town center can be seen the full body statue of Áron Gábor, the legendary cannon caster and artillery officer of the 18480-1849 revolution. The copy of the only cannon that still survives of the ones cast in Áron Gábor’s forge is on display in the Museum of Guild History in Târgu Secuiesc. The cannon was cast in 1971, using the copper item-grants of the citizens of Târgu Secuiesc.
The Museum of Guild History was open in Kezdivasarhely in the former Council Hall of the town in 1972 as a department of the Sekler National Museum,  after the 1930 antecedents. Its goal is the display of the keepsakes of the local cratsmanship, as well as the bourgeois culture rooted in it and the cultivation and study of this inheritance. The institution finds important the keeping of the spirit of the 1848-49 revolution. In terms of the history of folk wear an important task is the safe keeping and display of the doll-sized folk costume collection, which constitutes one of the most well-known collections of the museum. The collection contains about 350 doll-sized costumes baptised ”Zsuzsi and Andris”. The sunlight studio of the famous Bogdan photographer family does honour to the specialists of the museum, this is a place of exhibition of photographic history.


Its Reformed church was built in 1783 on the spot of the medieval church. It burned down in the great fire of 1834, it was rebuilt in 1838.
In the old town district named Canta there is a Baroque style Roman Catholic Trinity-church. The order of the minorite monks is linked to this church. The building of the high school bearing the name of Mózes Nagy is opposite.
(10 kms from Valea Seacă, 15 minutes by car)

(10 kms from Valea Seacă, 15 minutes by car)

 

Itt tartzkodsz: SIGHTS Monuments Kézdivásárhely